There is a saying, “You are always at the right place at the right time”. This is really true, as well as the further saying: “Everything happens for a reason”. This is a very personal and emotional story of mine. It has to do with my attempts and failures to run my first marathon, but the destiny I’m talking about has not much to do with running. I’m going to tell you how giving up and starting running over the years, lead to something that had to happen! (be courius, you won’t guess it anyway)

But as in life, let’s take the long road. When I was 15 I decided I wanted to run a marathon, once in a lifetime. Since I was an active volleyball player at the time, I couldn’t really do much of other training. Two years later I stopped playing volleyball. When I was 18, I decided to join a gym and start all over – well I was there for 4, or maybe 5 times and I hated it there. Again I didn’t get even close to my goal. So I gave it a little more time.

When I was 19, I decided to start again. But for some strange reason I asked “god” for a sign, if I should  start now. (I don’t know why, I’m actually not religious. I don’t pray ever.) That day I decided to run with music. I was ready to go and happily jumped down the stairs, then I skipped and fell down the rest of the steps and twisted my ankle. Well…. I didn’t even reach the door! This was somewhat a clear sign that this was not the right time. And the days and weeks after that weren’t it either, for my ankle had hurt a lot and I couldn’t even walk.

When I was 20, I moved to Berlin. One of the first things I did here, was buying a new pair of running trousers and I actually started training and ran about 5 times. The problem was, that I wasn’t sporty enough any more. By the time I was at the gym, I could run for an hour on the treadmill. Now I couldn’t even run for 20 minutes any more. Even these 20 Minutes consisted of walking half the time. So again, I gave up. Berlin was up to discover and the training could wait.

A year later, I registered for the Berlin Marathon and started actual training. It still was unsure if I could run the marathon or not, since only 42% of the registered people get chosen. Happily I was chosen! Now we come to the part of the story that probably interests you most. What does all of that have to do with destiny? Your are just a lazy person! …Right, I get you!

It was winter holiday and I was home in the south of Germany with my mum. She hadn’t really felt well for some time and didn’t really know what it was coming from. Anyway that day, the 26.12., I was going for a run. When I came back, I rang the door, but nobody opend. I knew my mum was home, because she told me, I didn’t need to take the keys. So I ran around the house and luckily we have a dog, so the door was only leaned by and not closed.

My mum was on the sofa, having cramps and she couldn’t really move. I didn’t really know what to do, but it also stopped very soon. She said she had this cramps all morning, but she refused to go to hospital. Since I couldn’t force her to go, I called her boyfriend (which was a cop). Very soon after that, he came to us and we tried to convince her to go to hospital. Then she had a heart attack. It turned out she was so seriously ill, that after that, she had been laying in a coma for about three months. The survival was very questionable.

So do you see the destiny in between? If I had run my marathon with 15, 18, 19 or 20, I probably hadn’t done training that day. And even if, I probably hadn’t come home at the right time. Maybe I had come home to late. Not to forget I was already coming home 10 minutes later than usual, because I got lost in the forest. What if I was already in the shower at that time? What If I had been in the cellar, where my room was? I hadn’t heard her. She hasn’t screamed at all! What if we didn’t have the dog I begged for four years when I was a kid? What if I didn’t call her boyfriend that was able to do the reanimation? What if I had had the strength to go running after I twisted my ankle? What if I chose to do my training at the gym?

I believe it had to be, the way it was. EXACTLY the way it was. So if you ever feel bad about not reaching you goal, or being too lazy, believe it has a higher reason why you are not there yet! Maybe some ones live depends on your failure! So believe me: “You are always at the right place at the right time”!

PS.: My mum is fine and I ran the marathon successfully! 😀

Love,

Laura

Leave a Reply

